'World Translation': Web to TM

Pdf File


Globalisation has dramatically increased translation volumes. Thanks to the internet, even SMEs employing just a few people are muscling into the global market, generating more and more text to be translated. Since machine translation does not produce convincing results, the number of translators should likewise be skyrocketing. But this is not the case. How, then, can relatively few translators handle this ever-growing volume of text?


Recycling based on fuzzy logic

The invention of the translation memory (TM) has shaken to the core traditional translation, with its steadfast reliance on huge dictionaries, an approach virtually unchanged since Babylonian times. Translation memories are based on the human predilection for repetitive behaviour. Many companies and organisations continue implementing similar processes over and over again, for years, saying pretty much the same thing every time. TMs are optimal tools for hoovering up the resulting 'corporate speak' – which, statistically speaking, always consists of the same blurb. These little miracle workers operate on the basis of fuzzy logic, which can recognise variable language patterns. As a result, the costs involved in translating a company CEO's annual Christmas speech which changes relatively little on each occasion can be cut year on year.

The first commercial translation memories were produced in Stuttgart. In the late 1980s, Jochen Hummel and Iko Knyphausen, a couple of technology geeks who had set up a small translation agency in 1984, started developing various programs to support the translation process, also referred to as Computer-Aided Translation – or CAT – tools. The system is really simple: individual translated text segments are stored together with the source text in a database to form a parallel corpus. If Trados, as this now world-famous software is known, recognises a block of text, or elements of it, the memory recycles the relevant translation from the memory. In ideal cases, translators will then only need to confirm the suggested translation, speeding up their work. CAT tools can generate significant savings in repetitive texts. If car manufacturer Citroën has already produced manuals for its C2, C3, C4 and C5 models, the translation of its C8 manual will cost a lot less.

The biggest advantage of TMs is invisible: they make a company's language consistent, harmonising its documentation, sales and support material and website. This way, everything becomes straightforward and uniform. The first globally successful 'orgy of harmonisation' came in 1997 when Microsoft sought to simplify the translation of its operating system into all the world's major languages as much as possible. Bill Gates quickly bought up part of Trados, optimised the system and made Windows the most successful software of all time. Dell and other large customers followed suit. In 2005, the company was snapped up by British competitor SDL, which took over the 'Trados' brand name for its software products.


From standalone solutions to cloud-based TMs

The vast majority of translators work from home as freelancers. But until recently, high-speed data lines were more the exception than the rule. Out of necessity, individual translators created their own databases, resulting in a myriad of standalone solutions. They saw their databases as their own private property, so it was hard to motivate them to cooperate. The big agencies responded with forced collectivisation by creating a new job, namely that of 'translation manager'. The translation manager's job was to act a bit like a tax collector, demanding the submission of bilingual files after every assignment. From that time on, translators and revisers received packages with each order, containing all the key translation resources they needed. The results then had to be returned, again as a package, which the translation manager fed into the main memory.

Smart agencies were able to build up enormous memories and consolidate their market position. However, their diligence was undermined by an inherent flaw in the system: the larger the main memory became, the worse the quality of the packages. The 'concordance memory' and the glossaries, which by this stage were gigantic, were too big to fit into the package, placing individual freelancers at a serious disadvantage, compared with server users.

In 2015, SDL, the company which had taken over the Trados software, launched the first usable GroupShare server. Since then, blocks of text have been stored on a central server, so that any number of translators can access these translation resources. This server technology means there is now no limit to the recycling of translation segments. And from here it is just a small step to 'World Translation', a cloud-based TM containing every translated segment on the internet.


The digital revolution as a cost killer

The blueprint for the first fully automatic translation network, called the TTN Translation Network, was drawn up in Geneva in 1987, before the internet as we know it existed. TTN's founder, Martin Bächtold, trialled the first inter-university networks at Stanford University in Silicon Valley. The lectures he attended detailed the comparative advantage model, making it immediately obvious that translation and communication would henceforth go hand in hand. The idea was that future translations would be produced in regions offering the best price-quality ratio, where the target language was actively spoken.

When Martin flew back to Geneva, his luggage contained one of the very first modems. Using this loudly-hissing tin box, which was still banned in Switzerland at the time, the world's first translation server was installed on a Schnyder PC with a 10-Mb hard drive. But this innovation came far too early for the market. Back then, nobody knew how a modem worked. The company had to borrow money to buy devices on the cheap in Taiwan which it then shipped free of charge to its customers and translators. One of its first customers was the Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research (WSL) avalanche warning service, an offshoot of the Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research (SLF) in Davos. Avalanche warnings had to be translated very fast, with the resulting texts sent back in digital format, not by fax. Back then, when an avalanche bulletin arrived, translators were informed by loud fax warnings, a system long since replaced by text messages and smartphone interfaces.

Created at CERN in Geneva in 1989, the World Wide Web revolutionised communication technology by introducing a new standard. When TTN went online, the Swiss Post Office at the time assigned it the customer number 16. Profits from the first system were ploughed into the development of a kind of ARPANET for translations in India, where a huge IT team programmed the code. The idea was to use a replicated network to establish a cloud system capable of fully automatically routing 165 languages. This attempt ended in failure, because the code was overly long and the problems encountered proved far more complex than anticipated.

The second attempt was more successful, but took much longer than expected. Step by step, ever larger parts of the processes were automated, slashing production costs by 30%. It turns out that agencies using artificial intelligence can manage large customer portfolios more efficiently than their exclusively human counterparts. Their programs calculate translators' availability, taking into account their working hours and holiday absences. And this optimised time management benefits translators, who enjoy a more constant stream of work. In a nutshell, there is less stress and greater productivity.

High levels of computational power required

Patrick Boulmier, Big Data specialiste from Infologo in Geneva is working with Keybot CEO Martin Bächtold to ready the very latest supercomputers for this 'world language machine'. The aim is to convert hundreds of websites a minute into TMs.

 

Keybot: Web to TM

Many global multinationals take a haphazard approach to the digitalisation of translations. While these companies have web applications with thousands of translated pages, they have no translation memories with these texts neatly stored in parallel corpora. This lackadaisical approach to selecting a translation provider has disastrous consequences: specifically, when poorly organised companies set out to overhaul their website, they have to pay the full price for every page, because the work already done cannot be recycled. As a result, a lot of knowledge is being unnecessarily lost, and reacquiring it costs money.


'Web to TM' entails combing the internet and converting it into an enormous translation memory:

 

This gives such companies a helping hand. Keybot, a TTN subsidiary, has developed a translation search engine of the same name which scans the internet in a similar way to Google. But it only stores multilingual pages, indexing them as parallel corpora. A complex network of servers mines the data and searches potential customers' websites for translated text segments. The extracted knowledge, i.e. the 'big data', has to be cleaned and sorted and then subjected to statistical analysis. Repetitions have to be counted and their significance calculated and recorded. Only when this laborious process is complete can the machine pass on the information, piece by piece, to a battery of GroupShare servers. After this long, drawn-out procedure, whenever translators open an order with their CAT software, all the parts the search engine has found on the customer's web application will have been translated automatically. The translator always has the latest version to be published, not an outdated version subsequently edited in-house.

To enable Keybot to match elements of language, it inputs all Wikipedia pages and translations of biblical texts and human rights in 165 languages. Each language has its own 'genetic code' that can be extracted in the form of n-grams. Keybot tries to use these statistical properties to identify and create parallel texts out of these blocks of text. The system is still at the beta stage, and so far it has only been possible to create reliable TMs if a customer has structured its website in such a way that the crawler does not get confused during the input process. The largest-ever translation memory so far generated was produced for a US firm and covers 23 languages.

Keybot intends to transform the entire multilingual part of the internet into a gigantic translation memory. 'Web to TM' is the way ahead. This transformation will be highly intensive in computational terms, so can only be performed by a correspondingly huge server farm. To acquire the necessary capital, Keybot is planning an IPO on Germany's SME exchange and is trying to raise crowdfunding to finance some of the hardware.


SLOTT Translation

The decisive innovations in machine translation were prompted by the meteorological sector. Weather forecasts face a virtually insoluble dilemma: they have to be disseminated rapidly, but must contain no translation errors. The statistical approach adopted by Google Translate doesn't help in this regard, as it is too inaccurate and can never hope to reproduce the ultra-precise nature of weather warnings.

Jörg Kachelmann, a really smart weatherman who had studied mathematics in Zurich, was the first person to resolve this dilemma. He took a simple Excel sheet and put together a cell-based system capable of managing language generation. As far back as the 1980s, the head of the SLF tried, but failed, to build a machine translation system. A German university's statistical attempt harnessing the principle of probability and Markov models also failed to deliver. So years later, when Kurt Winkler, an SLF engineer based in Davos, sent a bizarre-looking Excel sheet from the Alps to that language metropolis, Geneva, at first linguists ridiculed him as the 'fool on the hill' and his project was banished to their bottom drawer, like some second-rate detective novel. It was only when he persisted that a TTN employee familiar with translation memories was given the task of checking the integrity of Winkler's solution. One incorrect sentence, and Winkler's system would have been dead and buried.

After three days, there was still no word from this TTN analyst. Amazingly, no errors were found, and even a program specially designed to elicit them was unable to detect any. Winkler, who knew nothing about linguistics, analysed the texts of weather alerts and their translations for the previous 10 years, based on potential mutations. The fruit of his efforts was an Excel database that nobody could understand.

Or COULD they? A century ago in his lectures, Geneva-born Ferdinand de Saussure, the founding father of Structuralism, had highlighted the syntagmatic structure of language. He was the first to define the potential mutations that could occur in a linguistic structure, though he did not spot the connection with other languages. Winkler broke down the texts into segments using the same principles and set transformational rules for translating text segments from one language into another.

Dr. Kurt Winkler

 

Machine translations for greater security

 

This was how the SLF's Dr Kurt Winkler made an amazing breakthrough in machine translation, enabling avalanche warnings to be translated in a fraction of a second.

 

Bizarre-looking Excel sheet

 

Using Winkler's catalogue of standard phrases, millions of idiomatically and grammatically correct sentences can be generated in four languages. However, his system only works for avalanche warnings in Switzerland, and the phrases need to be generated using an on-screen catalogue. This is not very practical and its application is extremely limited.

TTN is experimenting with an analogue system, known as SLOTT Translation. As with weather forecasts, the translations must not contain any language errors, as this would undermine customers' faith in the system. In future, communications with customers will be standardised using a catalogue of only 20 sample sentences, so that enquiries can be correctly answered in flawless language.

It is unclear whether SLOTT will be able to gain a foothold as a commercial system. However, there is no doubt that future TMs will be hierarchically organised, significantly enhancing their potential. So the next generation of CAT systems will be able to properly translate not just the exact text stored in a TM, but also millions of variants.


Does this mean translators will soon be surplus to requirements?

TMs are recycling units, incapable of creative thinking. The architecture of the current generation of processors means they are no match whatsoever for the capabilities of the brain's synaptic system to generate meaningful sentences. So translators will remain irreplaceable. Only a quantum computer might be able to change that.

 

Free for publication (2337 words)

Martin Bächtold, Keybot LLC, Geneva, May 2017

Die Weltübersetzung: Web to TM

Pdf-Version

Durch die Globalisierung ist das Übersetzungsvolumen explodiert. Selbst KMU mit wenigen Mitarbei­tenden drängen über das Internet auf den Weltmarkt, so dass immer mehr übersetzt werden muss. Die maschinelle Übersetzung liefert keine überzeugenden Resultate, weswegen die Zahl der Übersetzer ebenfalls explodieren müsste. Dem ist aber nicht so! Wie kommt es, dass immer mehr Seiten von wenigen Übersetzern bewältigt werden können?


Recycling per Fuzzy-Logik

Die Erfindung des Translation Memory (TM) hat die seit babylonischen Zeiten stillstehende Übersetzungstradition, deren unverzichtbarer Bestandteil dicke Wörterbücher waren, grundlegend aus den Fugen gebracht. Translation Memorys nutzen den Umstand aus, dass Menschen zu repetitiven Verhal-tensweisen neigen. Viele Firmen und Organisationen führen über Jahre hinweg ähnliche Prozesse durch, die sich aus linguistischer Sicht gleichen wie ein Zebra dem anderen. Dieses sogenannte Firmenwording – aus statistischer Sicht betrachtet immer das gleiche Unternehmenssprech – kann mithilfe der TMs optimal eingefangen werden. Die kleinen Wunderwerke arbeiten mit Fuzzylogik, also einer unscharfen Logik, die in der Lage ist, variable Sprachmuster zu erkennen. Wenn ein Firmenchef alle Jahre eine ähnliche Weihnachtsrede hält, lassen sich die Übersetzungskosten von Jahr zu Jahr senken.

Die ersten kommerziellen Übersetzungsspeicher stammten aus Stuttgart. Zwei Nerds, Jochen Hummel und Iko Knyphausen, gründeten 1984 eine kleine Übersetzungsagentur und begannen in den späten 1980er Jahren mit der Entwicklung von Übersetzungshilfsprogrammen, auch CAT-Tools (Computer Aided Translation) genannt. Das System funktioniert einfach: Einzelne übersetzte Textelemente werden zusammen mit dem Originaltext in einer Datenbank abgelegt und bilden so ein Parallelkorpus. Falls Trados, so heisst die mittlerweile weltbekannte Soft¬ware, einen Textbaustein oder Teile davon wiederer¬kennt, recycelt sie die Übersetzung aus dem Speicher. Im Idealfall muss der Übersetzer den vorgeschlagenen Textbaustein nur noch valideren, so dass seine Arbeit schneller voranschreitet. Dank CAT-Tools können bei repetitiven Texten signifikante Einsparungen erzielt werden. Wenn die Automarke Citroen die Handbücher für den C2, C3, C4, C5 pro-duziert hat, entstehen beim Handbuch für den C8 viel weniger Kosten.

Der überwältigende Vorteil von TMs ist unsichtbarer Natur. TMs standardisieren die Sprache. Sie standardisieren die Dokumentation, den Verkauf, den Support und den Internetauftritt. Das gesamte Übersetzungsmanagement vereinfacht und vereinheitlicht sich. Die erste global erfolgreiche Vereinheitlichungsorgie wurde 1997 gefeiert, als Microsoft sein Betriebssystem möglichst einfach in alle wichtigen Weltsprachen übersetzen wollte. Bill Gates kaufte kurzerhand einen Teil von Trados auf, puschte das System und machte aus Windows die erfolg¬reichste Software aller Zeiten. Es folgten Dell und andere Grosskunden. 2005 kaufte die britische Konkurrenzfirma SDL das Unternehmen auf und übernahm Trados als Markennamen für ihre Softwareprodukte.

Von der Insellösung zum Cloud TM

Weitaus der grösste Teil der Übersetzer arbeitet als Freelancer bei sich zuhause. Schnelle Datenleitungen waren bis vor kurzem eher die Ausnahme. In der Not legte jeder Übersetzer seine eigene Daten-bank an, wodurch eine Unzahl von Insellösungen entstand. Die Übersetzer betrachteten ihre Speicher als Privatbesitz, weswegen es schwierig war, sie zur Zusammenarbeit zu motivieren. Die grossen Agenturen konterten mit Zwangskollektivierung. Sie schufen einen neuen Beruf: den Translation Manager. Wie ein Steuereintreiber forderte dieser nach jedem Auftrag die zweisprachigen Dateien zurück. Die Übersetzer und Korrektoren bekamen fortan Auftragspakete, die alle wichtigen Übersetzungsressourcen enthielten. Das Arbeitsresultat musste als Retourpaket geschickt und danach vom Translation Manager in den Hauptspeicher eingelesen werden.

Smarte Agenturen konnten enorme Speicher anlegen und ihre Marktposition ausbauen. Ihr Fleiss wurde allerdings durch einen systeminhärenten Fehler getrübt. Je grösser der Hauptspeicher, desto schlechter geriet die Qualität der Pakete. Der sogenannte Konkordanzspeicher und die mittlerweile gigantischen Wörterbücher passten nicht mehr ins Paket, was den einfachen Empfänger gegenüber dem Benutzer eines Servers stark benachteiligte.

2015 brachte die Firma SDL, welche die Trados-Software übernommen hatte, den ersten brauchba­ren GroupShare-Server auf den Markt. Die Textbausteine werden seitdem auf einem zentralen Server abgespeichert, so dass beliebig viele Übersetzer auf die Übersetzungsressourcen zugreifen können. Dank der Server-Technologie sind dem Recycling von Übersetzungsbausteinen keine Grenzen mehr gesetzt. Bis zur Weltübersetzung, einem Cloud-TM, das alle übersetzten Segmente des Webs enthält, ist es nur noch ein kleiner Schritt.

Die digitale Revolution als Kostenkiller

Das erste vollautomatische Übersetzungsnetz wurde 1987 in Genf noch vor dem Web unter dem Namen TTN Translation Network konzipiert. Der Gründer, Martin Bächtold, probierte im Silicon Valley an der Stanford University die ersten interuniversitären Netzwerke aus. In den Vorlesungen erklärten die Dozenten das Modell des komparativen Kostenvorteils, und sofort war klar: Übersetzung und Kommunikation gehen fortan Hand in Hand. Übersetzungen würden künftig am billigsten und qualitativ besten Standort produziert, also in einer Region, wo die Zielsprache aktiv gesprochen wird.

Bei der Rückkehr nach Genf lag eines der ersten Modems im Gepäck. Mithilfe dieser damals in der Schweiz noch verbotenen und laut zischenden Blech¬box wurde auf einem Schnyder PC mit einer 10-Mega-Festplatte der erste Übersetzungsserver der Welt installiert. Doch diese Innovation kam viel zu früh für den Markt. Kein Mensch wusste damals, wie ein Modem funktionierte. Die Firma musste Geld aufnehmen, um in Taiwan günstig Geräte einzukaufen, die sie gratis an Kunden und Übersetzer verschickte. Zu den ersten Kunden zählte der Lawinenwarndienst vom SLF in Davos. Die Lawinenwarnungen mussten extrem schnell übersetzt, sodann der Text nicht über Fax, sondern im digitalen Format übermittelt werden. Wenn ein Lawinenbulletin eintraf, avisierten laute Faxwarnungen die Übersetzer, ein Ursystem, an dessen Stelle heute längst SMS und Smartphone-Interface getreten sind.

1989 wurde das Worldwide Web im Genfer CERN geboren und revolutionierte durch einen neuen Standard die Kommunikationstechnologie. Mit Kundennummer 16 bei der damaligen Post startete TTN ins Internet. Den Gewinn aus dem ersten System investierte man in die Entwicklung einer Art Arpa-Netz für Übersetzungen in Indien, wo ein riesiges IT-Team den Code programmierte. Anhand eines replizierten Netzes sollte ein Cloud-System geschaffen werden, das 165 Sprachen vollautomatisch routen kann. Der Versuch endete kläglich, der Code war zu lang, die Probleme viel komplexer als angenommen.

Der zweite Anlauf war erfolgreicher. Es dauerte aber viel länger als erwartet. Schritt um Schritt konnten immer grössere Teile der Prozesse automatisiert und die Produktionspreise um 30% gesenkt werden. Es zeichnet sich ab, dass Agenturen, die künstliche Intelligenz einsetzen, grosse Kundenportfolios effizi­enter verwalten als ihre rein menschlichen Pendants. Die Programme berechnen die Auslastung der Übersetzer unter Berücksichtigung der Arbeitszeiten und Ferienabwesenheiten. Dank dem optimierten Zeitmanagement profitieren die Übersetzer von einem konstanteren Arbeitsfluss. Es gibt weniger Stress bei erhöhter Produktivität.


 

Hohe Rechenleistung gefragt!

Patrick Boulmier von Info­logo parametriert zusam­men mit Martin Bächtold, CEO Keybot, die neuesten Hochleistungsrechner für die Welt­sprach­maschine. Pro Minute müssen meh­rere Hundert Webseiten in TMs konvertiert werden. 

 

 

Keybot: Web to TM

Bei vielen weltweiten Konzernen verläuft die Digitali-sierung im Übersetzungsbereich chaotisch. Sie verfügen über Webapplikationen mit abertausenden übersetzten Seiten, haben aber keine Übersetzungsspeicher, wo diese Texte säuberlich in Parallelkorpora abgelegt sind. Die Nachlässigkeit bei der Auswahl des Übersetzungsproviders hat verheerende Folgen: Wenn schlechtorganisierte Firmen ihren Webauftritt überarbeiten möchten, müssen sie für jede Seite den vollen Preis bezahlen, weil die bereits geleistete Arbeit nicht recycelt werden kann. Viel Wissen geht unnötig verloren, und die Wiederbeschaffung kostet Geld.


Web to TM: Das Web wird abgesaugt und in ein gigantisches Translation Memory
(TM) umgewandelt

 Web to TM soll solchen Firmen wieder auf die Sprünge helfen. Die Firma Keybot, eine Tochterfirma von TTN, entwickelte die gleichnamige Übersetzungssuchmaschine, die wie Google das Web durchforstet. Sie speichert ausschliesslich mehrsprachige Seiten und indexiert diese als Parallelkorpora. Ein komplexes Netz von Servern betreibt Data-Mining, indem es die Internetseiten potentieller Kunden nach übersetzten Textelementen absucht. Das abgesaugte Wissen, also die Big Data, muss gereinigt, sortiert und statistisch ausgewertet, Wiederholungen gezählt, ihre Signifikanz berechnet und abgespeichert werden. Erst wenn dieser aufwendige Prozess abgeschlossen ist, kann die Maschine Häppchen um Häppchen an eine Batterie von Group¬Share-Servern senden. Wenn dann nach diesem langen Prozedere ein Übersetzer einen Auftrag mit seiner CAT-Software öffnet, übersetzt sie automatisch alle Teile, die die Suchmaschine auf der Webapplikation des Kunden gefunden hat. Der Übersetzer verfügt immer über die neueste, publizierte Version und nicht eine veraltete Fassung, die firmenintern nachbearbeitet wurde.

Damit Keybot die Sprachelemente zuordnen kann, liest sie alle Wikipedia-Seiten sowie wie die Übersetzungen der Bibeltexte und der Menschenrechte in 165 Sprachen ein. Jede Sprache besitzt ihren eigenen Gencode, der in Form von N-Grammen extrahiert werden kann. Diese statistischen Eigen­schaften sucht Keybot zu nutzen, um die Textbau­steine zu identifizieren und zu parallelisieren. Das System befindet sich immer noch im Betastadium, und bis jetzt können nur zuverlässige TMs generiert werden, wenn ein Kunde seinen Webauftritt so struk­turiert hat, dass sich der Crawler beim Einlesen nicht verheddert. Der grösste bis jetzt generierte Überset­zungsspeicher wurde für eine amerikanische Firma hergestellt; er umfasst 23 Sprachen.

Keybot möchte das ganze mehrsprachige Web in einen gigantischen Übersetzungsspeicher umwan­deln. Web-to-TM heisst die neue Devise. Die Transformation ist extrem rechenintensiv und kann nur von einer entsprechend grossen Server-Farm erledigt werden. Um das nötige Kapital zu beschaf­fen, bereitet Keybot in Deutschland den Börsengang an der KMU-Börse vor und versucht einen Teil des Maschinenparks via Crowdfunding zu finanzieren.


SLOTT Translation

Im Bereich der maschinellen Übersetzung kamen die entscheidenden Neuerungen aus der Wetterbranche. Warnmeldungen stecken in einem fast unlösbaren Dilemma: Einerseits müssen sie schnell verbreitet werden, andererseits dürfen sie keine Übersetzungsfehler enthalten. Der statistische Ansatz von Google Translate hilft bei dieser Aufgabe nicht weiter, weil er zu ungenau ist und nie in der Lage sein wird, die uhrwerkähnliche Präzision von Warnmeldungen wiederzugeben.

Der clevere Wetterfrosch Kachelmann, der in Zürich Mathematik studiert hatte, löste das Dilemma als erster. Er nahm ein einfaches Excel-Sheet und bastelte ein System, mit dem er die Sprachgenerierung über Zellen steuern konnte. Bereits in den 80er Jahren versuchte der Direktor des Instituts für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung SLF, ein automatisches Übersetzungssystem zu bauen. Später scheiterte auch ein statistischer Versuch einer deutschen Uni, der mit dem Wahrscheinlichkeits-prinzip und Markow-Modellen arbeitete. Als dann Jahre später der Ingenieur Kurt Winkler vom SLF in Davos ein irre anmutendes Excel-Sheet von den Alpen in die Genfer Sprachmetropole schickte, lachten ihn Linguisten zuerst als «Fool on the hill» aus. Sein Projekt wanderte in die unterste Schublade wie ein schlechter Kriminalroman. Erst als er insistierte, beauftragte man einen mit Translation Memorys vertrauten Mitarbeiter mit der Falsifizierung. Ein falscher Satz, und Good bye! Winklers System wäre gestorben.

Nach drei Tagen herrschte immer noch Funkstille. Es wurden keine Fehler gefunden, selbst ein speziell zur Falsifizierung gebautes Programm vermochte keine nachzuweisen. Erstaunlich! Winkler, der von Linguistik keine Ahnung hat, wertete die Warntexte und deren Übersetzungen der letzten zehn Jahre nach Mutationsmöglichkeiten aus. Als Resultat entwickelte er eine Excel-Datenbank, die kein Mensch verstand.

Oder doch? Bereits vor hundert Jahren hatte der Genfer Ferdinand de Saussure, der Gründungsvater des Strukturalismus, in seinen Vorlesungen auf die Syntagmastruktur der Sprache hingewiesen. Als erster definierte er die Mutationsmöglichkeiten, die in einem Sprachgefüge vorkommen können, ohne jedoch die Verbindung zu anderen Sprachen herzu­stellen. Winkler zerlegte die Texte nach denselben Prinzipen und legte Transformationsregeln fest, anhand deren Textelemente von einer Sprache in eine andere übertragen werden können.


Dr. Kurt Winkler

 

Maschinelle Überset­zungen für mehr Sicherheit

 

Dr. Kurt Winkler vom Institut für Schnee- und Lawinen­forschung SLF gelang ein erstaunlicher Durchbruch im Bereich der automatischen Über­setzung. Lawinen­war­nungen werden in einem Bruchteil einer Sekunde übersetzt.

 


Irres Excelsheet

 

Mithilfe von Winklers Satzkatalog lassen sich Aber-millionen idiomatisch und grammatikalisch perfekter Sätze in vier Sprachen generieren. Das System funktioniert allerdings nur für Lawinenwarnungen in der Schweiz; die Sätze müssen über einen Katalog am Bildschirm generiert werden. Das ist nicht sehr praktisch und bietet nur beschränkte Anwendungsmöglichkeiten.

TTN experimentiert unter dem Namen SLOTT Translation mit einem ähnlichen System. Wie Wettermeldungen dürfen Übersetzungen keine Sprachfehler enthalten, da dies das Vertrauen der Kunden untergrübe. Anhand eines Katalogs von vorerst nur zwanzig Satzvorlagen will TTN in Zukunft die Kommunikation mit den Kunden standardisieren, damit Anfragen in allen Sprachen fehlerlos und korrekt beantwortet werden können.

Ob sich SLOTT als kommerzielles System behaupten kann, ist ungewiss. Ausser Zweifel steht, dass künf­tige TMs hierarchisch organisiert sein werden, weil dies ihr Potential erheblich vergrössert. Die nächste Generation von CAT-Systemen kann nicht nur einen im TM gespeicherten Text genau, sondern Aber­millionen von Varianten korrekt übersetzen.

Wird der Übersetzer bald überflüssig?

TMs sind Recyclingmaschinen, die nicht kreativ denken können. Die aktuelle Prozessorengeneration ist von ihrer Architektur her in keiner Weise fähig, mit dem Synapsensystem des Menschen rivalisieren, wenn es darum geht, sinnvolle Sätze zu erzeugen. Der Übersetzer bleibt unersetzlich. Erst der Quantencomputer könnte diesen Zustand ändern.



Frei zur Publikation (1987 Wörter)

Martin Bächtold, Keybot GmbH, Genf, Mai 2017