'World Translation': Web to TM

Pdf File


Globalisation has dramatically increased translation volumes. Thanks to the internet, even SMEs employing just a few people are muscling into the global market, generating more and more text to be translated. Since machine translation does not produce convincing results, the number of translators should likewise be skyrocketing. But this is not the case. How, then, can relatively few translators handle this ever-growing volume of text?


Recycling based on fuzzy logic

The invention of the translation memory (TM) has shaken to the core traditional translation, with its steadfast reliance on huge dictionaries, an approach virtually unchanged since Babylonian times. Translation memories are based on the human predilection for repetitive behaviour. Many companies and organisations continue implementing similar processes over and over again, for years, saying pretty much the same thing every time. TMs are optimal tools for hoovering up the resulting 'corporate speak' – which, statistically speaking, always consists of the same blurb. These little miracle workers operate on the basis of fuzzy logic, which can recognise variable language patterns. As a result, the costs involved in translating a company CEO's annual Christmas speech which changes relatively little on each occasion can be cut year on year.

The first commercial translation memories were produced in Stuttgart. In the late 1980s, Jochen Hummel and Iko Knyphausen, a couple of technology geeks who had set up a small translation agency in 1984, started developing various programs to support the translation process, also referred to as Computer-Aided Translation – or CAT – tools. The system is really simple: individual translated text segments are stored together with the source text in a database to form a parallel corpus. If Trados, as this now world-famous software is known, recognises a block of text, or elements of it, the memory recycles the relevant translation from the memory. In ideal cases, translators will then only need to confirm the suggested translation, speeding up their work. CAT tools can generate significant savings in repetitive texts. If car manufacturer Citroën has already produced manuals for its C2, C3, C4 and C5 models, the translation of its C8 manual will cost a lot less.

The biggest advantage of TMs is invisible: they make a company's language consistent, harmonising its documentation, sales and support material and website. This way, everything becomes straightforward and uniform. The first globally successful 'orgy of harmonisation' came in 1997 when Microsoft sought to simplify the translation of its operating system into all the world's major languages as much as possible. Bill Gates quickly bought up part of Trados, optimised the system and made Windows the most successful software of all time. Dell and other large customers followed suit. In 2005, the company was snapped up by British competitor SDL, which took over the 'Trados' brand name for its software products.


From standalone solutions to cloud-based TMs

The vast majority of translators work from home as freelancers. But until recently, high-speed data lines were more the exception than the rule. Out of necessity, individual translators created their own databases, resulting in a myriad of standalone solutions. They saw their databases as their own private property, so it was hard to motivate them to cooperate. The big agencies responded with forced collectivisation by creating a new job, namely that of 'translation manager'. The translation manager's job was to act a bit like a tax collector, demanding the submission of bilingual files after every assignment. From that time on, translators and revisers received packages with each order, containing all the key translation resources they needed. The results then had to be returned, again as a package, which the translation manager fed into the main memory.

Smart agencies were able to build up enormous memories and consolidate their market position. However, their diligence was undermined by an inherent flaw in the system: the larger the main memory became, the worse the quality of the packages. The 'concordance memory' and the glossaries, which by this stage were gigantic, were too big to fit into the package, placing individual freelancers at a serious disadvantage, compared with server users.

In 2015, SDL, the company which had taken over the Trados software, launched the first usable GroupShare server. Since then, blocks of text have been stored on a central server, so that any number of translators can access these translation resources. This server technology means there is now no limit to the recycling of translation segments. And from here it is just a small step to 'World Translation', a cloud-based TM containing every translated segment on the internet.


The digital revolution as a cost killer

The blueprint for the first fully automatic translation network, called the TTN Translation Network, was drawn up in Geneva in 1987, before the internet as we know it existed. TTN's founder, Martin Bächtold, trialled the first inter-university networks at Stanford University in Silicon Valley. The lectures he attended detailed the comparative advantage model, making it immediately obvious that translation and communication would henceforth go hand in hand. The idea was that future translations would be produced in regions offering the best price-quality ratio, where the target language was actively spoken.

When Martin flew back to Geneva, his luggage contained one of the very first modems. Using this loudly-hissing tin box, which was still banned in Switzerland at the time, the world's first translation server was installed on a Schnyder PC with a 10-Mb hard drive. But this innovation came far too early for the market. Back then, nobody knew how a modem worked. The company had to borrow money to buy devices on the cheap in Taiwan which it then shipped free of charge to its customers and translators. One of its first customers was the Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research (WSL) avalanche warning service, an offshoot of the Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research (SLF) in Davos. Avalanche warnings had to be translated very fast, with the resulting texts sent back in digital format, not by fax. Back then, when an avalanche bulletin arrived, translators were informed by loud fax warnings, a system long since replaced by text messages and smartphone interfaces.

Created at CERN in Geneva in 1989, the World Wide Web revolutionised communication technology by introducing a new standard. When TTN went online, the Swiss Post Office at the time assigned it the customer number 16. Profits from the first system were ploughed into the development of a kind of ARPANET for translations in India, where a huge IT team programmed the code. The idea was to use a replicated network to establish a cloud system capable of fully automatically routing 165 languages. This attempt ended in failure, because the code was overly long and the problems encountered proved far more complex than anticipated.

The second attempt was more successful, but took much longer than expected. Step by step, ever larger parts of the processes were automated, slashing production costs by 30%. It turns out that agencies using artificial intelligence can manage large customer portfolios more efficiently than their exclusively human counterparts. Their programs calculate translators' availability, taking into account their working hours and holiday absences. And this optimised time management benefits translators, who enjoy a more constant stream of work. In a nutshell, there is less stress and greater productivity.

High levels of computational power required

Patrick Boulmier, Big Data specialiste from Infologo in Geneva is working with Keybot CEO Martin Bächtold to ready the very latest supercomputers for this 'world language machine'. The aim is to convert hundreds of websites a minute into TMs.

 

Keybot: Web to TM

Many global multinationals take a haphazard approach to the digitalisation of translations. While these companies have web applications with thousands of translated pages, they have no translation memories with these texts neatly stored in parallel corpora. This lackadaisical approach to selecting a translation provider has disastrous consequences: specifically, when poorly organised companies set out to overhaul their website, they have to pay the full price for every page, because the work already done cannot be recycled. As a result, a lot of knowledge is being unnecessarily lost, and reacquiring it costs money.


'Web to TM' entails combing the internet and converting it into an enormous translation memory:

 

This gives such companies a helping hand. Keybot, a TTN subsidiary, has developed a translation search engine of the same name which scans the internet in a similar way to Google. But it only stores multilingual pages, indexing them as parallel corpora. A complex network of servers mines the data and searches potential customers' websites for translated text segments. The extracted knowledge, i.e. the 'big data', has to be cleaned and sorted and then subjected to statistical analysis. Repetitions have to be counted and their significance calculated and recorded. Only when this laborious process is complete can the machine pass on the information, piece by piece, to a battery of GroupShare servers. After this long, drawn-out procedure, whenever translators open an order with their CAT software, all the parts the search engine has found on the customer's web application will have been translated automatically. The translator always has the latest version to be published, not an outdated version subsequently edited in-house.

To enable Keybot to match elements of language, it inputs all Wikipedia pages and translations of biblical texts and human rights in 165 languages. Each language has its own 'genetic code' that can be extracted in the form of n-grams. Keybot tries to use these statistical properties to identify and create parallel texts out of these blocks of text. The system is still at the beta stage, and so far it has only been possible to create reliable TMs if a customer has structured its website in such a way that the crawler does not get confused during the input process. The largest-ever translation memory so far generated was produced for a US firm and covers 23 languages.

Keybot intends to transform the entire multilingual part of the internet into a gigantic translation memory. 'Web to TM' is the way ahead. This transformation will be highly intensive in computational terms, so can only be performed by a correspondingly huge server farm. To acquire the necessary capital, Keybot is planning an IPO on Germany's SME exchange and is trying to raise crowdfunding to finance some of the hardware.


SLOTT Translation

The decisive innovations in machine translation were prompted by the meteorological sector. Weather forecasts face a virtually insoluble dilemma: they have to be disseminated rapidly, but must contain no translation errors. The statistical approach adopted by Google Translate doesn't help in this regard, as it is too inaccurate and can never hope to reproduce the ultra-precise nature of weather warnings.

Jörg Kachelmann, a really smart weatherman who had studied mathematics in Zurich, was the first person to resolve this dilemma. He took a simple Excel sheet and put together a cell-based system capable of managing language generation. As far back as the 1980s, the head of the SLF tried, but failed, to build a machine translation system. A German university's statistical attempt harnessing the principle of probability and Markov models also failed to deliver. So years later, when Kurt Winkler, an SLF engineer based in Davos, sent a bizarre-looking Excel sheet from the Alps to that language metropolis, Geneva, at first linguists ridiculed him as the 'fool on the hill' and his project was banished to their bottom drawer, like some second-rate detective novel. It was only when he persisted that a TTN employee familiar with translation memories was given the task of checking the integrity of Winkler's solution. One incorrect sentence, and Winkler's system would have been dead and buried.

After three days, there was still no word from this TTN analyst. Amazingly, no errors were found, and even a program specially designed to elicit them was unable to detect any. Winkler, who knew nothing about linguistics, analysed the texts of weather alerts and their translations for the previous 10 years, based on potential mutations. The fruit of his efforts was an Excel database that nobody could understand.

Or COULD they? A century ago in his lectures, Geneva-born Ferdinand de Saussure, the founding father of Structuralism, had highlighted the syntagmatic structure of language. He was the first to define the potential mutations that could occur in a linguistic structure, though he did not spot the connection with other languages. Winkler broke down the texts into segments using the same principles and set transformational rules for translating text segments from one language into another.

Dr. Kurt Winkler

 

Machine translations for greater security

 

This was how the SLF's Dr Kurt Winkler made an amazing breakthrough in machine translation, enabling avalanche warnings to be translated in a fraction of a second.

 

Bizarre-looking Excel sheet

 

Using Winkler's catalogue of standard phrases, millions of idiomatically and grammatically correct sentences can be generated in four languages. However, his system only works for avalanche warnings in Switzerland, and the phrases need to be generated using an on-screen catalogue. This is not very practical and its application is extremely limited.

TTN is experimenting with an analogue system, known as SLOTT Translation. As with weather forecasts, the translations must not contain any language errors, as this would undermine customers' faith in the system. In future, communications with customers will be standardised using a catalogue of only 20 sample sentences, so that enquiries can be correctly answered in flawless language.

It is unclear whether SLOTT will be able to gain a foothold as a commercial system. However, there is no doubt that future TMs will be hierarchically organised, significantly enhancing their potential. So the next generation of CAT systems will be able to properly translate not just the exact text stored in a TM, but also millions of variants.


Does this mean translators will soon be surplus to requirements?

TMs are recycling units, incapable of creative thinking. The architecture of the current generation of processors means they are no match whatsoever for the capabilities of the brain's synaptic system to generate meaningful sentences. So translators will remain irreplaceable. Only a quantum computer might be able to change that.

 

Free for publication (2337 words)

Martin Bächtold, Keybot LLC, Geneva, May 2017

La traduction planétaire avec Web to TM

Version Pdf

La mondialisation est à l’origine d’une explosion des volumes de traduction. Même les PME de quelques salariés arrivent via Internet sur le marché mondial. D’où la nécessité de traduire toujours davantage. Compte tenu des résultats peu concluants de la traduction automatique, on devrait assister à une explosion parallèle de la population des traducteurs. Or il n’en est rien. Un petit nombre de traducteurs suffit pour répondre à des besoins croissants dans ce domaine. Comment cela est-il possible ?


Le recyclage avec la logique floue

L’invention de la mémoire de traduction (Translation Memory ou TM) a révolutionné la traduction traditionnelle, restée figée depuis Babylone, et qui semblait définitivement associée à l’utilisation de gros dictionnaires. Les mémoires de traduction tirent parti du caractère souvent répétitif des comporte­ments humains. Les entreprises et les organisations peuvent en effet accomplir pendant des années des processus qui, linguistiquement parlant, se ressemblent comme deux gouttes d’eau. Ce « wording d’entreprise » – toujours le même bavardage sur un plan statistique – est capturé de façon optimale avec les TM. Ces petits miracles de la technique font appel à la logique floue pour identifier des modèles linguistiques variables. Si un chef d’entreprise prononce tous les ans un discours similaire devant l’arbre de Noël, sa société a la possibilité de réduire facilement ses frais de traduction d’une année sur l’autre.

Les premières mémoires de traduction commerciales sont originaires de Stuttgart en Allemagne. En 1984, les deux génies en informatique Jochen Hummel et Iko Knyphausen créent une petite agence de traduction et développent dès la fin des années quatre-vingts les premiers programmes d’aide à la traduction, également appelés outils de TAO (traduction assistée par ordinateur). Le principe est très simple. Des éléments de texte traduits sont stockés avec l’original dans une base de données, fournissant ainsi un corpus parallèle. Si Trados – c’est le nom de ce logiciel mondialement connu aujourd’hui – reconnait un segment de texte ou une partie de segment, la traduction correspondante est alors extraite de la mémoire et récupérée (recyclée). Dans le cas idéal, le traducteur n’a plus qu’à valider le fragment de texte proposé, ce qui lui permet d’avancer plus vite dans son travail. Les outils de traduction assistée par ordinateur autorisent d'importantes économies avec les textes répétitifs. Par exemple, une fois que le constructeur Citroën a rédigé ses guides d'utilisation pour les modèles C2, C3, C4 et C5, le coût du manuel de la C8 est considérablement réduit.

Mais l’avantage subjuguant des mémoires de traduction, de nature invisible, réside dans l’unification du langage. Elle standardise la documentation, la vente, le support et le site Internet. Tout devient simple et homogène. La première unification globale à grande échelle remonte à 1997, lorsque Microsoft entreprit de traduire son système d’exploitation aussi simplement que possible dans les langues les plus importantes au monde. Bill Gates fit alors l’acquisition d’une partie de Trados, introduisit le système et fit de Windows le logiciel le plus vendu de tous les temps. Dell et d’autres clients importants lui emboîtèrent le pas. En 2005, la société fut rachetée par SDL, un concurrent britannique, qui reprit la marque Trados pour ses propres produits logiciels.


De la solution isolée à la TM sur le cloud

La plupart des traducteurs travaillent en freelance chez eux à la maison. Dernièrement encore, les liaisons de données à haut débit étaient plutôt l’exception. Chaque traducteur créait par nécessité sa propre base de données, ce qui donnait naissance à une infinité de solutions isolées. Considérant sa mémoire comme sa propriété privée, le traducteur était peu enclin à collaborer. Pour contrer cette tendance, les grosses agences eurent recours à la collectivisation forcée et créèrent un nouveau métier: le gestionnaire de traduction. Tel un percepteur, celui-ci exigeait l’envoi des fichiers bilingues lorsque le travail était terminé. Depuis lors, traducteurs et réviseurs reçoivent leurs commandes sous la forme de packages de projet incluant les ressources de traduction, et livrent le fruit de leur travail dans des packages de retour, dont le contenu est ensuite transféré dans la mémoire principale du gestionnaire de traduction.

Les agences astucieuses ont pu constituer ainsi des mémoires principales colossales et développer leur part de marché. Mais leur zèle a été assombri par une faiblesse inhérente au système. Plus la mémoire de traduction principale est volumineuse, plus la qualité des packages diminue. La mémoire de concordance et les dictionnaires devenus gigantesques ne pouvaient plus être inclus dans le package, ce qui était un inconvénient notable pour la réception par courriel par rapport à l’exploitation d’une base de données en ligne.

En 2015, la société SDL, qui avait racheté le logiciel Trados, commercialise le premier serveur GroupShare viable. Les segments de texte sont désormais stockés sur un serveur central, permettant ainsi à un nombre illimité de traducteurs d’accéder aux ressources de traduction. Grâce à la technologie de serveur, plus aucune limite n’entrave le recyclage des segments de traduction. Un petit pas seulement nous sépare encore de la traduction planétaire, une mémoire de traduction sur le cloud, qui engloberait tous les segments traduits sur le Web.


La révolution numérique, un véritable chasseur de coûts

TTN Translation Network, le premier réseau de traduction entièrement automatique, a été conçu à Genève en 1987, avant l’ère du Web. Son créateur Martin Bächtold avait eu l’occasion d’expérimenter les premiers réseaux interuniversitaires à l’université de Stanford, dans la Silicon Valley. Les cours sur le modèle de l’avantage comparatif avaient été pour lui une révélation : de toute évidence, la traduction et la communication seraient désormais indissociables. Les traductions doivent être réalisées sur le site le plus attractif sur un plan économique et qualitatif c’est-à-dire dans une région où la langue cible est pratiquée activement.

Avant de rentrer à Genève, Martin Bächtold a glissé l’un des premiers modems dans son bagage. Cette « boîte métallique » aux sifflements bruyants, qui est alors interdite en Suisse, lui permet d’installer le premier serveur de traduction au monde sur un PC Schnyder avec 10 mégas de disque dur. Mais cette innovation est beaucoup trop précoce pour le marché. Personne ne sait alors comment fonctionne un modem. La société doit donc emprunter de l’argent pour acheter des appareils bon marché à Taïwan et les expédier gratuitement aux clients et aux traducteurs. L’institut pour l’étude de la neige et des avalanches SLF de Davos, un service spécialisé dans l’alerte en cas de risques d’avalanches, est l’un des premiers clients. Les bulletins d’avalanches demandent à être traduits très vite et les textes doivent être transmis par voie numérique, et non par télécopie. Les traducteurs sont prévenus de l’arrivée d'un bulletin d’avalanche par une sonnerie sur le télécopieur, un système ancestral remplacé depuis bien longtemps par le SMS ou l’interface du smartphone.

En 1989, le Worldwide Web fait son apparition au CERN de Genève et révolutionne dans son sillage les technologies de communication avec un nouveau standard. TTN se lance sur Internet avec le 16 comme numéro client auprès des services de la Poste. Les gains générés avec le premier système sont utilisés pour financer le développement d’un réseau de type ARPA dédié à la traduction, en Inde, où une très grosse équipe d'informaticiens travaille sur la programmation du code. A partir d'un réseau répliqué, il s’agit de créer un système sur le cloud pour le routage automatique de 165 langues. L’opération se solde par un échec. Le code est trop long et les problèmes bien plus complexes qu'on ne l’avait pensé.

La seconde tentative est plus fructueuse, même si son aboutissement demande beaucoup plus de temps que prévu. Progressivement, des pans de processus toujours plus importants sont automatisés, et les coûts de production peuvent être réduits de 30%. Il apparaît que les agences utilisant l’intelligence artificielle gèrent plus efficacement les gros portefeuilles de clients que celles qui les confient à des collaborateurs. Les programmes calculent la charge de travail des traducteurs en tenant compte des horaires et en intégrant les congés. Grâce à une gestion optimisée du temps, les traducteurs bénéficient d'un flux de travail plus constant, d’où moins de stress et une productivité accrue.

 

La nécessité d’une puissance de calcul élevée

Patrick Boulmier, spécialiste du Big Data de la société Infologo, paramètre avec Martin Bächtold, CEO de Keybot, les nouveaux ordinateurs ultra-puissants pour la machine linguistique planétaire. Plusieurs centaines de pages Web doivent être converties à la minute en mémoires de traductions.

 

 

Keybot : Web to TM

Dans de nombreux groupes internationaux, la numérisation est souvent chaotique dans le secteur de la traduction. Ces organisations mettent en œuvre des applications Web contenant des milliers de pages traduites mais ne disposent pas de mémoires de traduction pour stocker proprement ces textes dans un corpus parallèle. La négligence qui préside au choix des prestataires de traduction a souvent des conséquences désastreuses. Lorsqu’elles souhaitent réviser leurs sites Internet, les sociétés mal organisées paient le prix fort pour chaque page, puisque le travail déjà effectué ne peut être récupéré et recyclé. Le remplacement de ces connaissances malencontreusement perdues a un coût.


Web to TM : le Web est aspiré et transformé en gigantesque mémoire de traduction

 


Web to TM a été conçu pour venir en aide à ces entreprises. La société Keybot, une filiale de TTN, a développé un moteur de recherche de traductions qui porte son nom. Celui-ci passe le Web au crible, tout comme Google. Il ne mémorise que les pages traduites en plusieurs langues et les indexe ensuite dans un corpus parallèle. Un réseau de serveurs complexe effectue l’exploration de données et analyse les pages Internet de clients potentiels, à la recherche des éléments de texte traduits. Les informations ainsi aspirées, ou Big Data, doivent être ensuite nettoyées et triées, puis soumises à une analyse statistique. De même, les répétitions doivent être répertoriées, leur pertinence calculée, puis sauvegardées. Une fois ce lourd processus achevé, la machine peut envoyer les contenus, segment par segment, à une batterie de serveurs GroupShare. Lorsqu'un traducteur ouvre ensuite un projet avec un logiciel de TAO, tous les fragments de texte retrouvés sur l’application Web du client par le moteur de recherche, sont traduits automatiquement. Le traducteur dispose toujours de la version publiée la plus récente, et non d’une version obsolète qui a été remaniée en interne entretemps.

Pour pouvoir classifier les éléments linguistiques, il est nécessaire à Keybot d’avoir une première base d’apprentissage, c’est pourquoi il intègre toutes les pages Wikipedia comme les traductions de textes bibliques et des droits de l’homme en 165 langues. Chaque langue possède son propre gencode, qui peut être extrait sous la forme de n-grammes. Keybot entend exploiter ces propriétés statistiques pour identifier et mettre en parallèle les segments de texte. Le système se trouve encore en phase bêta. Jusqu’à présent, il n’a été possible de générer des mémoires de traduction fiables que lorsque le site Web du client était organisé de façon à éviter tout faux-pas au crawler pendant la phase d’aspiration des données. La mémoire de traduction la plus importante à ce jour compte 23 langues. Elle a été produite pour une société américaine.

Keybot a pour but de transformer le Web plurilingue en une gigantesque mémoire de traduction : « Web to TM ». La transformation étant extrêmement exigeante en termes de puissance de calcul, elle nécessite par conséquent une batterie de serveurs suffisamment puissante. Pour réunir les fonds nécessaires, Keybot prépare en Allemagne son introduction à la bourse des PME et tentera de financer une partie du parc de machines avec le crowdfunding.


SLOTT Translation

Dans le domaine de la traduction automatique, les innovations décisives sont venues du secteur de la météorologie. Les bulletins d’alertes donnent lieu à un dilemme, avec d'un côté l’obligation d’une diffusion rapide et, de l’autre, l’impérieuse nécessité d’exclure toute erreur de traduction. L’approche statistique de Google Translate n’est ici d’aucun secours, en raison de son manque d’exactitude d'une part, mais aussi parce qu’elle ne permettra jamais de restituer la précision horlogère des bulletins d’alerte.

Jörg Kachelmann, un météorologue astucieux, qui a étudié les mathématiques à Zurich, a été le premier à résoudre ce dilemme. A partir d’une simple feuille de calcul Excel, il a « bricolé » un système destiné à gérer la production d’énoncés linguistiques par l’intermédiaire de cellules. Dès les années quatre-vingts, le directeur du SLF avait tenté de bâtir un système de traduction automatique. Le système statistique basé sur le principe de probabilité et les modèles de Markov, qui avait été imaginé quelque temps après par une université allemande, fut également un échec. Plusieurs années plus tard, lorsque Kurt Winkler, de l’Institut pour l’étude de la neige et des avalanches SLF à Davos, adresse une feuille de calcul Excel à première vue totalement farfelue à la métropole linguistique de Genève, il est tout d’abord la risée des linguistes qui le prennent pour un fou. Son projet est déposé tout au fond d’un tiroir, tel un mauvais roman policier. Il lui faut insister pour qu'un collaborateur de TTN, connaisseur en mémoires de traduction, soit mandaté pour infirmer la thèse de l’absurde. Une phrase incorrecte, et bye bye le système Winkler, qui serait mort-né.

Trois jours plus tard, c’est toujours silence radio. Aucune erreur n’a été identifiée. Même un logiciel spécialement conçu par TTN à cet effet ne peut démontrer l’existence de la moindre erreur. Étonnant ! Kurt Winkler, qui n’y connaissait rien à la linguistique, avait analysé les bulletins d’avalanches et leurs traductions sur les dix dernières années pour déceler les possibilités de mutation, et consigné ce travail dans une base de données Excel que personne ne comprenait.

Personne ? Peut-être pas. Quelque cent ans plus tôt en effet, Ferdinand de Saussure, originaire de Genève et père fondateur du structuralisme, avait déjà attiré l’attention dans ses cours sur la dimension syntagmatique du langage. Il avait été le premier à définir les possibilités de mutation pouvant se présenter dans une structure linguistique, sans toutefois établir un lien avec d’autres langues. Kurt Winkler avait découpé les énoncés selon les mêmes principes et dégagé des règles de transformation pouvant être appliquées pour transposer des éléments de texte dans une autre langue.

A partir d’une liste de phrases répertoriées par Kurt Winkler, des millions de phrases idiomatiques et grammaticalement parfaites peuvent être générées en quatre langues. Le système ne fonctionne, il est vrai, que pour les bulletins d’alerte avalanches en Suisse, et les phrases doivent être produites à partir d’une liste à l’écran. Cela n’est guère pratique et l’usage est très limité.

TTN expérimente un système analogue, appelé SLOTT Translation. Tout comme les bulletins météorologiques, les traductions ne doivent comporter aucune erreur car cela saperait la confiance des clients. A partir d'un catalogue de 20 phrases types dans un premier temps, il s’agit de standardiser la communication avec les clients, de façon à pouvoir répondre correctement et sans erreur à des requêtes dans toutes les langues.

Dr. Kurt Winkler

 

Des traductions automatiques pour plus de sécurité

 

Kurt Winkler, travaille à l’Institut pour l'étude de la neige et des avalanches SLF. Il est à l'origine d’une avancée étonnante dans le secteur de la traduction automatique. Les alertes avalanches sont traduites en quelques fractions de secondes.

 

Feuille de calcul Excel

 

Nul ne sait encore si le système SLOTT parviendra à s'imposer sur un plan commercial. Par contre, il ne fait aucun doute que les mémoires de traduction de demain présenteront une organisation hiérarchique des phrases, dans la mesure où leur potentiel s’en trouvera ainsi considérablement augmenté. Les systèmes de TAO de la prochaine génération seront capables de traduire avec précision non seulement des textes stockés dans une TM, mais aussi des millions de variantes.


Le traducteur est-il appelé à disparaître ?

Les mémoires de traduction ne sont que des machines de recyclage. Elles n’ont aucune aptitude intellectuelle ni créative. De par leur architecture, les processeurs actuels ne peuvent en aucun cas rivaliser avec les synapses du cerveau humain lorsqu’il s’agit de produire des énoncés porteurs de sens. Le traducteur reste indispensable. Seul l’ordinateur quantique pourrait y changer quelque chose.

 

Utilisation libre pour publication (2639 mots)

Martin Bächtold, Keybot Sarl, Genève, mai 2017